Create a free Feed Strategy account to continue reading

AFIA board welcomes new leadership

AFIA holds its annual spring meeting.

Board held its annual spring meeting

The American Feed Industry Association’s Board of Directors met virtually this week for its annual spring meeting, where they elected a new chair and several Board and Executive Committee members, and conducted other official business.

The AFIA Board of Directors recognized Scott Druker, Ph.D., of Church & Dwight Company, Inc. for his leadership as the association’s Board chair during the 2020-21 AFIA fiscal year. Druker now transitions into a one-year chair of the Institute for Feed Education and Research’s (IFEEDER) Board of Trustees [,1,Rd0auYSaIU9MhiqxrkFttoPC1DeVkfI3WLGOZOAGQVTSLlxoRhK5iEjxeHcVC6x7wHvlyFWQoLPkPeS621gCVcgBxg_BEzSawMjj5_eC3TzPT_a-vTY,&typo=1 ] .

“During his time as chair, Scott brought strong and steady leadership to the AFIA Board of Directors, reflecting on the challenges our industry has faced over the past year throughout the coronavirus pandemic to ones we have overcome together throughout our 100-year history,” said AFIA President and CEO Constance Cullman. “Though I am sure this is not the year Scott imagined it would be, he proved to be the beacon we needed in the storm to stay focused on a goal bigger than ourselves – that of keeping our food supply stable and our domestic livestock and pets fed. Thank you, Scott, for all you have done for the AFIA on behalf of the membership this past year.”

The AFIA Board officially elected Mike Schuster of Laidig Systems, Inc. as its new chair, effective through the end of AFIA’s fiscal year April 30, 2022.

“It is an honor to welcome Mike Schuster as chair of the Board of Directors,” said immediate past chair Druker. “His 26-year involvement with the AFIA Equipment Manufacturers Committee and more recent participation on the Board demonstrates his commitment to being an active leader in the association. I know his passion for advocacy and member engagement will serve our members well for the next year and beyond.”

The AFIA Board voted to accept the nomination of Dean Warras of Phibro Animal Health Corporation to become chair-elect of the organization. Warras will succeed Schuster as chair in May 2022.

The Board also elected the following individuals to serve three-year terms, which began during the meeting: John Akridge of MFA Incorporated; Scott Anderson of California Pellet Mill; Gerry Daignault of The Maschhoffs LLC; Frank Goode of ILC Resources; C. Ross Hamilton, Ph.D., of Darling Ingredients Inc.; Scott Lovin of Ag Partners LLC; Lisa Norton of BioZyme Incorporated; Brian Rittgers of Micronutrients USA LLC; Gisele Santos Bin of BASF Corporation; Leigh Ann Sayen of The Peterson Company; Kevin Schluender of Nutra Blend, LLC; Fernando Valdez of Kemin Industries Inc.; Ted Williams of D&D Ingredient Distributors, Inc; and Wesley Wilson of Ag ProVision LLC.

In addition, the Board approved six nominated individuals as additions to AFIA’s Executive Committee: Eric Arnold of Bill Barr & Company, Inc.; Joe Lucas of CJ Bio America, Inc.; Elizabeth Maier of The F.L. Emmert Company; Jeff Pendleton of Hallway Feeds; Chad Risley, Ph.D., of Berg+Schmidt America, LLC; and Doug Webel of United Animal Health, Inc.

Prior to the business meeting, on Wednesday, the Board heard from Tim Schell, Ph.D., director of the Office of Surveillance and Compliance at the Food and Drug Administration, on the agency’s upcoming goals for food safety inspections, improving the ingredient review process, onboarding new staff and implementing its strategic plan. They also heard from Julie Callahan, Ph.D., assistant U.S. trade representative for agricultural affairs and commodity policy at the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, on the Biden administration’s trade priorities and current challenges in the global trading environment.

Page 1 of 116
Next Page