Create a free Feed Strategy account to continue reading

Specialty Soya and Grains Alliance makes board changes

Specialty Soya and Grains Alliance adds new board chair

Bob Sinner of  SB&B Foods elected new board chair

The Specialty Soya and Grains Alliance added one new member to its Board of Directors, re-elected another and tapped Bob Sinner of North Dakota-based SB&B Foods as new board chair during its 2020 Annual Meeting on Thursday.

Raquel Hanson of Pipeline Foods was elected to one of two open seats on the board, and Keith Schrader of Wheeling Grain Partnership was re-elected to the other open seat.

Following the SSGA business meeting, the Board of Directors elected officers, and Sinner was voted in as chair, with Rob Prather of Global Processing as vice-chair and Darwin Rader of Zeeland Farm Services as secretary/treasurer.

“I’m humbled to be elected SSGA chair,” said Sinner, who previously served as the organization’s vice-chair. “The chair is only as good as its board, so I will lean on everybody on this team – and it’s really a talented group. I’m excited about where SSGA is going.”

Sinner replaces retiring chair/director Curt Petrich of HC International.

Other members of the SSGA Board of Directors include: Rick Brandenburger of Richland IFC, Andy Bensend of AB Farms and Adam Buckentine of The Redwood Group.

“This is a group of such smart, talented people,” SSGA Executive Director Eric Wenberg said. “They not only represent all of the areas vital to SSGA and its members, but they have a passion for what they do. And that will only serve our membership and help our alliance grow and grow stronger going forward.”

Hanson, the board’s newest director, said she is eager to get started in her new role.

“I’m looking forward to serving,” Hanson said. “There are a lot of challenges in the industry, and I’m hoping I can help.”

SSGA’s annual meeting was a two-day event held virtually due to COVID-19 gathering restrictions. More than 70 people logged in each day.

Besides board elections and business meeting, highlights from the event included several speakers and presenters, among them: United Soybean Board CEO Polly Ruhland, U.S. Soybean Export Council COO Ed Beaman, Tradelanes CEO Vijay Harrell and organic farmer Carolyn Olson.

For Day 1 and Day 2 recaps of the 2020 Annual Meeting go to the SSGA website at


Page 1 of 117
Next Page